Scrapbook for my Best Friend’s Birthday

My best friend had her birthday today, and she is just as crazy about making memories (read : taking photos, getting them printed and making albums) as I am. So I decided to make a scrapbook for her…my first ever attempt at scrapbooking!

She turned 21, so I decided on the ’21 Years of Awesomeness’ theme-of-sorts. This was a true labour of love…the friend I made this for, is my bestest friend in the world and I wanted to give her something really special. How I managed to finish this in three days…I have no clue! I work well under pressure I guess πŸ™‚

I started off with a pre-cut tabbed album from Kaisercraft, of which I cannot find any picture anywhere on the web now. And me being me, I didn’t click a photo of what the original, undecorated album was like. Anyway…here’s the finished thing –

Used some ribbon to tie up the whole thing. The fact that I actually forgot to buy binder rings hence turned out to be a boon in disguise. Though I might gift my friend a pack of binder rings soon when the ribbon starts fraying or tearing (which will hopefully NOT happen for quite some time), this whole effect of the bows and all wouldn’t have happened with the steel binder rings. So yay!

I used these small round mirrors to add a bit of dimension and drama to the album. And I love the subtle sparkle they add.

I cut out the tabs for the page headers with a self-made stencil. I really love this shape!

Used a frame stencil from Pie Lane to make that frame around the photo, and then painted it in using some beautiful, lustrous Pearl paints I bought recently.

Can you make out the sheen? I love it!

I was so SO glad and relieved when my friend saw it and absolutely LOVED it. Job well done.

Happy Birthday Vidhi ❀

Material usedΒ 

Card stock, stationery, embellishments : From local shops

Ribbon, pearl paints, Kaisercraft album : Itsy Bitsy

Stencils : Pie Lane, self-made

20 thoughts on “Scrapbook for my Best Friend’s Birthday

  1. This is a fab idea
    but y did ya have to use cardstock
    y not cardboard its better i made one by using cardboard and it looks like as if ive bought it.
    lol xxxxx πŸ™‚

    1. Hey Hansa! The base of the scrapbook is actually a wooden album from Kaisercraft (as I’ve mentioned). I’ve just covered it with CS to make it look colourful πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

